Introducing Ms. Alma Bell and the Rev. Dr. Mark Gatza as co-chairs of the bishop search Transition Committee 

A message from our co-chairs:


The response to our first appeal for Transition Committee members has been heartening, with interest expressed by wonderfully talented people. We continue to look for additional members, particularly those who can help us represent the geographic and demographic richness of our diocese. This is a great opportunity to invite someone who might be new to diocesan-level ministries or shows some aptitude for leadership.
We hope that you will share this invitation personally with anyone you think might be interested in serving, making sure that they know they can call on us for further details. We can promise to bring good humor and a healthy sense of fellowship and camaraderie to the work in our charge. Learn more here: (…/standing-committee…/).

If you are interested in submitting your name for consideration to serve as a member of the Transition Committee, please email [email protected] to share your intent. Your Transition Committee co-chairs, the Rev. Dr. Mark Gatza and Ms. Alma Bell, will be in touch. The deadline to submit your name for consideration is Tuesday, November 1, 2022.

Ms. Alma Bell and The Rev. Dr. Mark Gatza, Co-Chairs of the Transition Committee for the XV Bishop of Maryland.

Ms. Alma Thompson Bell
Member, St. David’s, Roland Park


The Rev. Dr. Mark Gatza
Rector, Emmanuel, Bel Air